Ohio Red and White Medallion, Center Block

As mentioned in my last post, I’m creating a quilt inspired by a historical work held by the International Quilt Study Center & Museum. You can find the inspiration quilt here. And you can find more information about it here. I don’t intend to reproduce it exactly, but to honor it.

The center block of the quilt is quirky and complex. I found the inspiration quilt more than a month ago and have spent much of that time pondering its construction. The sizing of components and the technique to use for them both present challenges. (And opportunities!) On first glance it looks mostly pieced, but I decided that appliqué would be my primary technique. I’m not very experienced with appliqué, so thinking it would be “easier” gives you a notion of how the piecing would go.

And because I don’t appliqué much, I tried multiple methods before settling on raw edge fusing, with a button-hole stitch to seal the edges.

Here’s the block so far, with more detail to come. It is surrounded by the hourglass blocks that border it a little later. I have a ways to go yet, but I’m really happy with it and its resemblance to the historical quilt.

20170226_181755

 

25 thoughts on “Ohio Red and White Medallion, Center Block

    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Yes, you can strip piece an 8-pointed star. The challenge here was the dark lines between white points, plus the background red is not just a star, but also has the square corners. The variety of piecing issues with it led me to applique. Thanks for the link. Very pretty, and yes, it does look Nordic that way.

      Reply
  1. katechiconi

    This is so crisp and elegant, and the shade of red you’re using is perfect, giving a vintage feel without being too brown. I think you could fairly say you’ve cracked the appliqué thing!

    Reply

Thanks for your comments. I don't check them often. Please email me if you have questions.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.