Hugs and Kisses, Given and Received

Today I gave this quilt to a friend.

XOXO, aka Hugs and Kisses. 48″ square. Finished June 2014.

Why? Because it was her quilt. I made it without an owner in mind, but it has since become apparent that I made it for her.

I think it will come in handy soon, while she recovers from upcoming surgery. She is tough. I’ve no doubt she’ll be up and around quickly. But while she is not, while she is resting and gathering strength, perhaps this will provide some comfort.

hmm… I am thinking as I write. Perhaps it is not for her recovery. Perhaps it is for her preparation. Maybe the strength she needs is before surgery. Yes. I think that’s it. In that case, it is good timing that we were able to enjoy each other’s company today, and that I could share this blessing with her.

Yes, I think that’s it.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Hugs and Kisses, Given and Received

  1. KerryCan

    What a really, really, REALLY nice thing to do! I’m sure your friend was moved beyond words and that the quilt will make a big difference in her attitude toward her upcoming challenge!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Storing inspiration – in praise of Pinterest! |

  3. Thread crazy

    So happy you shared this story – I know your friend will always love and cherish the quilt. That’s why I love and giving them away; to bless someone else gives us all joy.

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I showed it to her more than a year ago. I pointed out all the flaws — she is an artist who actually makes a living in art — and we were talking design. She loved it anyway, has mentioned it a couple of times. No way in the world was she hinting for a gift — she is an artist and knows the value!! So it had to be for her, and it had to be now. It was a good gift and I am happy.

      Reply
  4. allisonreidnem

    Isn’t it wonderful how much we gain when we give away something lovely? Thank you for sharing and making me think about what’s at the heart of quilt making.

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I’ve determined that selling my quilts is not likely, or at least would be rare if at all. That means I have to make them for love, not money. Love of the art, and love of those who receive them. Thanks.

      Reply
  5. katechiconi

    And maybe, like me, she takes her quilt into hospital with her, to relieve the bland sterility of the setting. This is perfect as an antidote to hospital beige, and cannot fail to bring comfort and cheer. It’s a lovely, happy quilt.

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      It is full of love, all those hugs and kisses. The thing she was happiest about (rightly so) her two sons will be home for a few days. She’ll be able to see them before the surgery. They are similar age to my son, and they also live 1500 miles away (2400 km). So I know she’ll have a lot of love with her. 🙂

      Reply

Thanks for your comments. I don't check them often. Please email me if you have questions.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.