My Creative Manifesto and a Challenge for You

About a year and a half ago I read a post by another blogger on her creative manifesto. It was a listing of her beliefs and desired actions for her creative activity. Inspired, I published my own.

Occasionally I think about who I am as a quilter, what I want to accomplish, how much focus I want to put on quilting… (When Jim reads this we will laugh together, as I actually think about this A LOT!) So I wondered if that creative manifesto, published more than a year ago, still fits me. It does.

If this post inspires you, I challenge you to write your own creative manifesto.

Here is a partial outtake of my earlier post:

I love the idea of the list (I love lists!) because when we consider our self-image as quilters, when we see who we are today and who we want to become, we also consider where our satisfaction stems from. Is it from design, execution, giving, teaching? If you test patterns for others and don’t find it nurturing, is there a reason to do it again? If your love is in sharing your knowledge, don’t you need to find more ways to do that?

I think self-definition helps provide the inspiration and motivation to continue growing in our craft.

With no further ado, and totally copying from Sarah’s format, here are some thoughts on who I am as a quilter, and “what kind of artist I want to be.”

  • I am creative, which means I create.
  • Transforming things creatively is part of transforming me.
  • Writing is part of my creative expression.
  • I include me in all of my work.
  • I try new things, even if it scares me.
  • I practice skills and don’t wait for the skills fairy to wave her magic wand.
  • I learn from frustration.
  • I take advantage of opportunities to grow.
  • I don’t have to do everything or like everything I do.
  • I help, teach, encourage, and try to inspire others.
  • I credit others for their work and words.
  • I value others’ work, even if I don’t like it.
  • I respect the history of quilting by learning more about it.
  • I respect the present and future of quilting by being part of it.
  • I am open to new ways of doing familiar things.
  • I say “thank you.”
  • Materials are to use, not hoard.
  • I share.

Some of these are aspirational, but saying them as statements of what I AM helps reinforce that this is the person I want to be, and can be.

I’D LIKE TO CHALLENGE YOU. If you’re a blogger, I’d love to see your blog post with your own creative manifesto. It can be in list form or paragraph, but explain what is important to you as a quilter and creative person. If you’re not a blogger, let us know in comments how you see yourself as a quilter.

9 thoughts on “My Creative Manifesto and a Challenge for You

  1. Pingback: Creative Manifestos and Monolithic Maidens | Saltworkstudio

  2. KerryCan

    Like you, I think all the time. Not so much about a manifesto, though. Lately, I’ve been pondering my aesthetic–what appeals to me visually and what doesn’t. Why I am drawn to some looks, colors, shapes, etc., and not others. Having said that, I like reading your manifesto because it gives me a lot to think about and reassures me that I am not the only one who seems to spend an inordinate amount of time on such things!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

