Marking Things Off…

Always plenty to do

This is my short list from last Sunday:
1) Sew binding on traditional class medallion. (As you know, there are several steps to this, too…)
2) Cut and make binding for bright class medallion, and then attach and finish it.
3) Make back for XOXO quilt.
4) Piece batting for XOXO quilt.
5) Load and quilt XOXO quilt.
6) Choose fabric, cut and make binding, attach and finish it for XOXO quilt.
7) Trim hemmed edges off big tablecloth, which I’ve decided to quilt.
8) Make back for tablecloth, and so on and so on…
9) Check donation quilt for readiness to quilt.
10) Get donation quilt ready, as it won’t actually be “ready to quilt” as marked.
11) Load and quilt donation quilt.
12) Square round robin mini medallion.
13) Choose and cut mini medallion backing fabric and cut flannel or batting for it.
14) Quilt mini medallion.
15) …

No wonder it seemed like a busy week! Truth is, I am ready to start some new things. I’d like to experiment with simple shapes like triangles and bars. But I like clearing the decks before immersing myself in new projects. There still are a handful of “old” projects in waiting. I’ll weave them into the mix, too, and I’ll show you progress as I make it.

The guild donation quilt, loaded and ready to go.

What’s on your list?

You can find Catbird Quilt Studio at Facebook, too.

11 thoughts on “Marking Things Off…

  1. KerryCan

    What a lot of progress–wow! I, too, marked a quilt off my list–I’ll be posting about it, probably tomorrow. I hope you’ll stop by to take a look!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      It was a lot. I’ve been sick and am finally nearly better. I think it’s that burst of energy that comes near the end… 🙂

      The donation quilt was constructed by someone else, and yes, I really do like it. Love the cheery colors! I only quilted it.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Thread crazy

    Love the colors in the donation quilt. I too have crossed many things off my list but have so much more to add! Such is the life of a quilter; there’s always something else to bind, hem, cut fabric for, etc. Anxious to see how the donation quilt turns out.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      That’s as much as you’ll see of it. Someone else constructed it, a different someone else will bind it. My guild gives about 200 quilts a year. That’s more than one per member.

      Like

      Reply
  3. farmquilter

    You have certainly been making progress!!! I have about 50 quilts I need to make backings for and get quilted, but first on my list is my daughter’s wedding quilt – have to put it back on the frame and finish the quilting!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      Yes, start with that. Making backs is one of my least favorite steps, truly. It’s not inspiring, and we haul around big hunks of fabric, so physically it’s a lot of work for not much aesthetic payoff. Or something like that… 🙂

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

