Is This Thing On?

After much resistance, I decided to create a Facebook page linked to the blog. Why the hesitation? Personally, I use Facebook pretty narrowly. For me it’s a way to keep up with friends and family, and to update them easily on news in my life. I have a short “friends” list on purpose; I keep private information private. Enough of my life is already on-line, both in terms of time and attention. Limiting Facebook is a means to manage that.

But Facebook is a valuable tool when trying to reach the wider world, too. With more than a billion, yes, BILLION users, it gives opportunities that a blog platform by itself cannot. People who would never find Catbird Quilt Studio here at WordPress may well find it at Facebook.

The benefit I look forward to most, though, is more opportunity for interaction with you. WordPress users find it easy to comment here. Those who follow via email notifications or with various readers, like Feedly or Bloglovin’, have a harder time. Facebook is universal, and anyone on it can comment there just as they would on their own friends’ posts. It will be fun to have more give and take, more questions and answers, and better understanding of the quilting topics you want to see.

So come on over! Follow Catbird Quilt Studio at Facebook. Say “hi,” leave a comment or question, let me know what you’re working on today. Share your thoughts about quilting and how it fits into your life. I’ll look forward to seeing you.

9 thoughts on “Is This Thing On?

  1. Thread crazy

    Melanie, I’m a bit behind here on commenting. I know of a couple other bloggers who have gone to FB; I have my personal page there just o keep up with family/friends. For me, I’ll stick with WP for the time being.

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      Totally fine. The main purpose is to be more available for comments, and for “following”. Some readers have a harder time with the wordpress format. But all my blog posts are posted here and just linked there.

      Good to see you. I hope you’re well.

      Reply
  2. treadlemusic

    It’s an idea that I’ve avoided cuz my Fb page is so inundated with unwanted advertising that it’s become an annoyance. There are more and more going this direction, though, cuz BlogLovin doesn’t “play well” with WP or other sites. I have you in my Reader and wish you many “Likes”!!! Love your blog! Hugs……………………

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      Thanks, Doreen. That means a lot to me. I have a love-hate relationship with fb, for sure. Hoping the positives outweigh the negatives here. And if they don’t, well, I can always shut it down! 🙂

      Reply
      1. treadlemusic

        Yup……that option is always there. I know that the new posts (of others) show up on Fb much sooner than they show up in the “Reader” and sometimes I miss them cuz they get inserted chronologically!!

        Reply

Thanks for your comments. I don't check them often. Please email me if you have questions.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.