I Love it When a Plan Comes Together

I am a great planner and always have been. Sometimes plans work out; sometimes they don’t.

A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.
~ Lao Tzu

At this stage of my life, I have the luxury of time. While deadlines do crop up occasionally, most of my schedule is self-imposed. And for the most part, I’ve become comfortable with changing that schedule, since no bad thing will happen if I don’t finish project X by week Y.

First comes thought; then organization of that thought, into ideas and plans; then transformation of those plans into reality. The beginning, as you will observe, is in your imagination.
~ Napoleon Hill

Because I design my own quilts, the planning is key. With no pattern, no color scheme suggested by others, I pull from my experience and from my inspirations.

Plans are nothing; planning is everything.
~ Dwight D. Eisenhower

A pattern isn’t enough for me. The thought process helps me deal with problems before they arise.

Mix a little foolishness with your serious plans. It is lovely to be silly at the right moment.
~ Horace

But I always want to temper that with room for the unexpected, and for play. Often the greatest visual success comes from the element of surprise.

It takes as much energy to wish as it does to plan.
~ Eleanor Roosevelt

The key, though, isn’t just in the plan, or even in the impromptu moment. It’s in the execution. If I don’t do it, it won’t get done.

More of an idea than a plan… http://wp.me/p3L3zY-gs

8 thoughts on “I Love it When a Plan Comes Together

  1. melintheattic

    Wow! That looks huge! And ambitious. Love your quotes. I do have trouble sometimes with the translation from dream to reality. It always transforms, and I have to be ok with that. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      Huge! And ambitious! Yes. lol… Not sure it will ever get made. I have the star points made from the center, and I have a desire to make something special with them. But it isn’t very high on my list of things to do. So yeah, it transforms, sometimes over a short time and sometimes over a long time.

      THanks for taking a look.

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

