Distracting Myself With Drawing Quilts

It was another rough news week, wasn’t it? Between threats of nuclear war with North Korea, the possibility of invading Venezuela (and WHY?? I keep up pretty well and haven’t been able to figure this one out,) and the disgusting display of American Naziism in Virginia over the weekend, I’ve practiced distraction a lot.

I’ve been quilting my big 6-pointed star quilt in pink and brown, too. I posted a handful of pix in Instagram, but nothing here. I have it about 75% done, but it is now off the frame, as I’ll turn it to do the last two sides. (Because I’m doing “custom” quilting, and treating each section differently, the borders are easier to do in one pass. If I turn the quilt 90Β°, I can do the sides that way, rather Β than in pieces as the quilt rolls from one end to the other. If you didn’t understand what I just said, don’t worry… πŸ™‚ )

Besides that, I’ve been thinking about my upcoming class. I will make one quilt to feature in the shop’s marketing. I’ll also make two quilts along with my students. But I also will draw several more, to show them examples of how they might use simple blocks and unpieced borders to create an intricate design.

Here are a few. All of them will create a quilt finishing 60″ square. The center block for each is the same size, and the border widths are the same sizes. They all use the same blueprint.

I’ll start with a re-do of the white and bright one from the other post. This preserves the flavor but simplifies it quite a bit.

Next are two that also use spacer blocks in the final border.

And two more that have more traditional block placement in the final border.

These were fun to create, and served well to keep my mind off some less happy topics.

16 thoughts on “Distracting Myself With Drawing Quilts

  1. katechiconi

    You’ve distracted yourself to very good effect! I still like the first one (oooh, sparkly!), but I also love the second one, which is fun. I guess I’m not much of a traditionalist…

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Yes, it’s a spools block. Also about a year ago I appliqued a great big sewing machine onto a center block for a friend. I thought then it would be fun to center a quilt with a machine and have the spools surrounding it. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Tamara Hutchinson

    Great distracting-I’ve been doing the same, but maybe not with such success. I’ve been fussy cutting for a guild class, and I’m not liking it so much. I see a few drawings that speak to me-especially the leaf version, as I have a small pile of leaves that need a home. Peace.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks for the peaceful wishes. It comes and goes, right? The first project I worked on for my quilt guild, about 10 years ago, was a round robin centered by 4 maple leaves. I really loved that project and ever since have wanted to do something similar. Thanks again.

      Like

      Reply
  3. tierneycreates

    I have been practicing distraction too this week! Any extra time I have I am spending in the studio.
    I really love the spool one (all are terrific) but I find that medallion quilt exceptionally appealing! πŸ™‚
    Here’s to keep our minds off unhappy topics!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Distraction is a good thing, as long as it doesn’t end up as head-in-the-sand. Dangers to that, too, ya know! This week seems busy enough so the distractions will continue. As to the spools, I’m glad you like it! I thought the colors were fun. Did you notice it’s the exact same layout as the maple leaves one, other than the HST arranged differently? πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. Nancy Granner

    My favorite quilt design was the last one on the page using blacks. It really spoke to me. I guess
    other dark fabric could be used instead of black and it would work. Nancy

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

