Mountain Top

Well, my Delectable Mountains quilt top, in ย pink and brown, is done.

20170207_114451

Delectable Mountains design, most popular in the 1840s – 1870s. Color combination of double pink and brown popular during same years. Unquilted top. Approximately 61″ square.

My purpose in making it was to learn how to make it, having been inspired by photos of antique quilts in similar designs. I think it is very pretty, and will be more so once quilted and edged with a brown binding.

I do not, though, think it is very interesting. My original plan was to make this version as a lesson, and then make it again in red and white. Now I’m not sure if I want to do that.

Honest opinions? If you had done it, would you have done things differently? As long as you’re not mean (and I trust you won’t be,) you won’t hurt my feelings.

22 thoughts on “Mountain Top

  1. katechiconi

    It’s pretty, and beautifully pieced, but I find it a bit plain. My eye keeps wanting to fill the setting triangles with something. I think if you do re-make it in red and white, it needs something else happening in those areas, otherwise it’s strictly a utility quilt. Of course, I’d love it more in red and white anyway, as vintage colour schemes are not really my thing!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Well, I would say not a “utility” quilt, from the traditional use of that term. However I do agree it is plain, as I said, not very interesting. I hope the quilting will help. If I do make it again in red and white, I would not fill the large spaces then, either, except with quilting.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Yes, it would suit that kind of decor, I think. I do actually like the color combination very much, but it really isn’t how anybody decorates these days, so it has rather limited appeal, I think! I guess I’m just a tad disappointed in some ways. Need to reframe my experience…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. allisonreidnem

    I like the simplicity of the design (although all those neat points are anything but simple to achieve!). It reminds me of an Amish type design which invites the quilting to be an important part of the finished effect. Not sure how I’d feel about making a second version of a quilt – different colours, different size could help.

    Like

    Reply
  3. knitnkwilt

    What jars my eye is the amount of medium rose–I’d have used it more as an accent color. If you do a red and white quilt,all that will be white. I agree with all others who have said that the empty spaces in traditional quilts are exquisitely quilted, and that makes all the difference.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Paula Hedges

    I agree there is a bit too much of the medium pink and it is distracting. Perhaps the half square triangles of brown and the neutral breaking the overwhelming feeling would be sufficient. I do like the pattern, but once would be enough to make it for me. Creative quilting the pink canvas will help. I will be interested in seeing the finished quilt.

    Like

    Reply
  5. snarkyquilter

    With the simplicity of this design you need the colors and quilting to carry the day. The pink/brown combo is cute, but not the best for large swathes of the surface. You could always do couching or embroidery in the large plain areas, especially the beige neutral.

    Like

    Reply
  6. jmn111

    I agree with you – well executed but dull. You had decided to work within the constraints of a particular quilt genre and did that nicely. Problem is, I think, we’re used to seeing much more colorful modern quilts today. My two cents – if you were to do a red/white I’d go outside the limitations of the original traditional design. There’s still lots of potential with just two colours. Gradations of red/gradations of white, many more fabrics… Could be interesting.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Elizabeth E.

    Well, sometimes you just have to try something to see how turns out. When I took a class from Bill Cunningham, he said that it was one thing that drove him to work on a quilt. He liked to see where it was going to go. And I think that is probably the experience you had with this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. zippyquilts

    The design is terrific! I don’t care for the colors, but I’m not supposed to like them almost 200 years later–otherwise, how could shops sell new fabric?! On the other hand, I have my great-great grandmother’s trunk from the 1850s, so maybe I do like some old stuff…Anyway, nice job on the quilt!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I actually like the colors, but I don’t like them at all in this balance. A more even helping of the pink, brown, and cream would work better for me. Also it would help if they were mixed in more thoroughly, not big patches of any of them. Another thing learned… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I love your comments!

