Some of My Favorite Posts from 2016

Carousel kaleidoscope

When trying to figure out why last year seemed so darn weird, I reviewed both my photos and my blog posts. (Sense of weirdness explained here.)  I also checked my stats to see which posts had the most views. As it turns out, only two posts from last year finished in my top 10. First was the aptly named How to Finish UFOs. The other one was Carousel,the Kaleidoscope Quilt. The quilt is pictured above. My all-time most viewed post, including last year, was Economy Block ANY Size! (With Cheat Sheet).

There are a few other blog posts I think are worth highlighting, though they are not necessarily about quilting or quilts.

Things I’ve Learned From Blogging
Thoughts on Work and Play
Green Quilting
Body Armor
Too Much

The posts I most enjoy writing are those that teach me something. Whether it is by articulating process on my own projects, discussing design principles and elements, or considering how we limit ourselves with labels, these posts push me farther in understanding how and why I create.

As we go into this new year, I thank you sincerely for reading. If you follow this blog, thank you for that, as well. There are so many ways you can spend your time, and I’m touched that you choose to spend some of it here.

P.S. WordPress just notified me this is my 500th post on this blog.

12 thoughts on “Some of My Favorite Posts from 2016

  1. snarkyquilter

    It’s enlightening to see which posts are your personal faves versus which ones collected the most views. You had mentioned writing a weekly essay, but I think that writing regular blog posts also helps clarify the mind and give shape to your work.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I agree that it does. I think my notion of “essay” is something I do rarely, though, and generally I don’t think of process posts as essays. The 5 I listed probably fall into that category. In truth, I’m not very interested in creating obligations for myself, even of that nature, so I’m not sure I could follow through on it, even if I began. (Much like the drop-off in people’s new year’s resolutions resolution.) We’ll see… 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. allisonreidnem

    Congratulations on your 500th post. Your posts are always thought provoking and informative. I was doing a Google search yesterday and found your economy block tutorial near the top of the page ☺. May I recommend a friend’s blog to you? Rachel is a textile artist who writes very eloquently about her inspiration and process, in fact she has a book being published in a few months time about this – find her at folioandfibre.WordPress.com

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

