Doing For Others

This morning I’m quilting another guild donation quilt. They were pieced by other people.  This is the fifth one since I started these a week ago. I do not love them, and I do not love working on them.

But THIS: when the world feels dark and upsetting, there is nothing better than to DO something for someone else. If you feel discomfort with the world as it is today, DO something for someone else. One of my favorite quotations is from the Reverend King: “Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”

12248230_10206368959076705_6777115287286649106_o

LOVE is shown by doing. DO for someone else.
Drive out darkness. Drive out hate.
Choose love.

11 thoughts on “Doing For Others

  1. KerryCan

    I’ve been dealing with dark and upsetting times by working on a women’s suffrage quilt. I found a bunch of quotes I love about women’s rights and the vote and have been embroidering them on blocks to include with pieced blocks from my guild’s block of the month. There’s nothing like the slowness of embroidery to get me to think about the words and the people behind them. I cannot wait to vote tomorrow. NY is a state where we have to actually go to the polls on Election Day!

    Like

    Reply
  2. zippyquilts

    Excellent point! My daughter’s reaction to recent events was to make her first donation to the ACLU as a way of doing something constructive. Doing for others is always a good antidote to depression. (Or shock, in this case.)

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

