One Lovely Blog Award and Some Things You Didn’t Know About Me

Screen Shot 2016-08-21 at 8.52.34 AM

This week I was honored to be nominated for One Lovely Blog Award, by my new blog friend Sola of Alice Samuel’s Quilt Co. Thanks, Sola!

Please take a look at her blog. She is a new quilter doing impressive things in a challenging quilters’ environment. As a Nigerian, she doesn’t have an abundance of resources some of us enjoy, like local quilt shops, library shelves full of quilting books, or even many other quilters around. Occasionally she even deals with the challenge of electrical black-outs, making it tough to either quilt or blog.

Check out her most recent quilt top. As a medallion quilter, my heart filled with happiness to see this beautiful piece!

Sola says the award rules are the following:

The Rules:
  • Thank the person who nominated you, and give a link to his/her blog.
  • List the rules.
  • Display the image of the award on your post.
  • List seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate (up to) 15 bloggers for this award, and notify them to let them know you have nominated them.

I’ve been nominated for awards in the past and truly appreciate the props. However, I don’t blog for awards. My rewards come from having the venue to express myself, the opportunity to get acquainted with others in the bigger world, and the chance to share some information and inspiration.

Here are few facts about me, for those who are interested.

  1. The things I think about most, other than my family, are quilting, writing, hiking, and politics, not necessarily in that order.
  2. I don’t have pets. I really like cats, but I’m allergic to them, and to the responsibilities of caring for them, especially while traveling.
  3. Cooking! And eating! I should add cooking and eating to #1 above, things I think about most!
  4. I (not-so-secretly) wish to live in a much smaller home than I currently live in. At the same time, I have no desire to move for a few more years.
  5. My academic and career background is in finance and economics. If you wonder about my analytical bent in my quilting, consider that.
  6. I usually make a quilt from start to finish in a relatively short time. This habit probably comes from being goal-oriented in quilting for my first few years. If I was making a quilt, it was for a specific purpose, often with some kind of a deadline (even if an artificial one.) It’s a good habit for me, though, and leaves me with very few UFOs.
  7. If you want to know even more about me, you could look at this post from early 2014. Some things in my life have changed since then, but the core of me has not.

Thanks again to Sola for nominating me! Thanks to you for taking a look at her blog, and also for reading here.

15 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award and Some Things You Didn’t Know About Me

  1. Andi

    Hi Sola! I followed Melanie’s link to find you. I applaud your goal of bringing Quilting to Nigeria. Best of luck! I love the international community that quilters have. Much love from Arizona, USA.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Alice Samuel's Quilt co.

    Awww, thank you so much Melanie for the shout out and the kind words…How lucky am I to have amazingly talented Quilty friends like you! I really wish that was me with your number 6 ability – finishing a quilt in a short time…Wow. Definitely something to aspire to cos it seems like I take forever to finish anything 😦 Thanks again, it means a lot and your nomination is very well deserved.

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

