Busy July

I am good at many things, but I am not good at multi-tasking. For instance, I can make or I can blog. Doing both at the same time seems beyond my capabilities much of the time. In July, I was busy making but not blogging about it.

Early in the month I showed you my list. At the end of June I had four projects in process, and my goal was to finish them all before my guild meeting on July 11. By July 1, one of them was done. By July 11, three of them were done. Since then I’ve finished the fourth.

The only one I managed to blog about since finishing was my guild challenge project, Iowa In My Mind.

2016_0713IAQuilt

Iowa In My Mind. Approx 31.5″ x 20″. July 2016. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

I still might blog about how the other three were finished, but life moves on and perhaps I will, too.

More Precious Than Diamonds

2016_0630Diamond (1)

More Precious Than Diamonds. 86″ x 90″. June 2016. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

Find more about Diamonds here and here and here. And here.

Moonlight Waltz

Waltz2

Moonlight Waltz. 90″ x 90″. July 2016. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

Find out more about Moonlight Waltz here and here and here.

Untied

Untied2

Untied. 41″ x 47″. Hand-quilted. July 2016. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

Find out more about Untied here and here.


AND SINCE THEN?

Round Robin

Since July 11 I finished my small group round robin for another member. It was our last border pass, so my border presumably was the last border for her project. I also received my own in return. On Friday I quilted it. Sorry — no pix yet. I plan to donate it for my guild’s silent auction at our next quilt show.

Delectable Mountains

I love playing with triangles, and frankly I don’t do it nearly often enough. This month I chose to play with Delectable Mountains blocks created with half-square triangles. I do plan to blog about this but it might be a few days. Saturday I quilted this. I need to lengthen my binding by a few inches before attaching, but I hope it will be done this week.

Delectable Mtns on frame

Stacked Coins

I made the back, loaded, and quilted some stacked coins today (Sunday.) I made this mostly with scraps from the Diamonds quilt. With the angled cuts, scraps were icky shapes and I didn’t feel like putting them in my scrap drawer. So I cut strips from every piece I could. With adding a bit from my scrap drawer and a bit more from stash, I had plenty to create my strips. I LOVE strip quilts, so this was fun to make. Again, another blog post to come.

Stacked Coins on frame

The first half of my year was rather slow, so I guess I’m making up for it now.

27 thoughts on “Busy July

  1. katechiconi

    You sure are making up for it! Lots of finished and almost finished and getting there work. And you’ve given us links so we can go back and read about it, so the process is covered too. Love that stacked coins quilt – I can’t remember seeing that before, and you’ve had fun with colour on that one, I see!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Stacked coins also called Roman Coins or Chinese Coins. Mine don’t have a nationality. 🙂 Besides it being a fun, pretty quilt, there are 2 benefits. First, it was EASY. And my brain needed easy. Second, I used a lot of those scraps.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks! Sometimes fun is in the challenge. For the Delectable Mountains, the biggest challenge was choosing fabric. And for the coins, it was counting, because I kept miscounting my strips. … 😉

      Like

      Reply
  2. allisonreidnem

    Thanks for the July round up! I especially like Moonlight Waltz – it is inspiring me to add a medallion quilt to my to do list… It is very tricky finding the balance between making and blogging about what’s been made!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Sometimes I do okay with the balance and sometimes I just can’t manage it. Part of my problem now is feeling quite inarticulate in the face of our political campaigns. It seems to bottle up all my words! Thanks for taking a look. When you get to the point of starting your medallion, let me know if you have questions or want moral support.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. allisonreidnem

        Thanks Melanie. I think I know what you mean about the political situation, if the Presidential election can be compared to our recent EU referendum. I wasn’t alone in getting uptight about what was being said and how it was all being reported – towards the end I had to avoid watching any late evening news programmes otherwise I got too wound up to sleep!

        Like

        Reply
  3. KerryCan

    Ha! And here I was worried that your lack of blogging meant you were going through a fallow period in your making! That couldn’t be further from the truth–you’ve been so productive! I love them all, especially the diamonds and stacked coins.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I love those bright strong colors, too. Truth be told, I’d kinda like a fallow period in making, but I feel rather compelled right now. In September I’ll get very little done, so I guess I should just go with the compulsion for right now.

      Like

      Reply
  4. colorpencil2014

    It is so hard not to feel a slacker when I see all the beauty you have produced here! The Iowa quilt is gorgeous, how I love that windmill. the other quilts make me very happy too (although I still feel a slacker ;o) xo Johanna

    Like

    Reply
  5. snarkyquilter

    I can see that you’ll be in the unusual position of having too many finished quilts rather than too much stash. You’ve become a quilting machine! And with no loss in quality!

    Like

    Reply
  6. piecefulwendy

    You have been busy! I really like the Delectable Mountains — I’ve always wanted to make one of those, so thanks for the reminder! Stacked Coins is nice too, so I’ll add that to my list. I have been away from my machine for way too long these past weeks! Hoping this week is quieter and allows me some time at my machine! Nice work!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

