Feathers

I realized recently that when the longarm machine was new to me, I tried more difficult quilting designs than I’ve done in the past two or three years. I’ve opted for quick-and-easy quilting more often than not. In truth, medallion quilts often are so complex in design that fancy quilting gets lost, anyway. So there is some reason to simply add texture and not another layer of design. Also, I don’t like heavy quilting in general. But partly it’s just because that step in quilt-making is not my favorite, so I don’t make a lot of effort.

However, once I realized that, I decided to make a little more effort with my next project. Here is the result. This is the back of the leftovers quilt, shot in low light to show the relief.
20160430_081929

Turned out okay. 🙂

21 thoughts on “Feathers

  1. claire quilty

    To me it is not overquilted – it remains soft and puffy. Often machine quilting when all the spaces are filled in, is beautiful but not longer cuddly. Truly, to my eyes, this is lovely and cuddly.

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

