Leftovers ==> Donation Quilt

I have the quilt top done, having found just the right border fabric in my stash. The background of it is blue with a touch of green, making it work well with the blues in the centers of the blocks. The olive green leaves add to that match. Also there are orangey-gold star-shaped flowers, which repeat the cheddar orange in the blocks.

I cut the available yard of border fabric into six strips, each 6″ wide. I pieced them into the four border strips needed. The top finishes at about 53″ square. It’s a nice size for a lap quilt. I’ll donate it through my guild and it might become a donation for our local VA hospital.

20160423_180920

This might give you a better idea of the colors:

20160423_181016

I also pulled a bunch of fabrics from my brown stash to piece for the back. I have blues to mix in to brighten it.

Son is gone already. We had him here for a whole 49 hours. It was too little but we take what we can get. Next week he deploys overseas for the summer. I am feeling pretty sad, to tell the truth. But that is the way of things, yes?

 

20 thoughts on “Leftovers ==> Donation Quilt

  1. Tammy

    The quilt is very nice, and I agree about the border fabric being just right. About son being gone for a long time-yes it is tough, but think how technology let’s us keep in touch. I’m sure you will make good use of it!

    Like

    Reply
  2. katechiconi

    That is indeed the perfect print for the border. It’s a wonderful quilt considering its spontaneous origins, and some lucky veteran or sick service person is going to be very happy with it. Do you have a name for it yet? Can I put up ‘Serendipity’ as a suggestion?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      That’s a lovely suggestion. I don’t usually name my donation quilts, as I try not to get emotionally attached to them in the first place. But I like that very much. Thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  3. allisonreidnem

    The border fabric works perfectly and I’m sure the pieced back will add to the overall charm of the quilt. We are discovering the bitter sweet of having our grown children moving away from home and forging their own lives. We are proud that they can be independent adults (we did something right as parents!) but feel detached from their everyday living. Times together become very special. Hope the deployment time passes quickly and communications are easy.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Yes, we did something very right. He is very capable, as are our daughters. And he’ll be fine in his short assignment — I’m not worried (only a little.) We just didn’t get quite enough of him before he left, and he was not at ease, either. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. snarkyquilter

    I’m so glad you put the red squares only in some of the cream color blocks. The dash of red adds piquancy to your top without becoming boringly regular. Hope you get to visit with your son again soon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      We might go see him late summer, once he is back in the US. In the meantime we should have about the same type of communications with him as now. Main difference is he will be 8 time zones ahead instead of 2 behind. Will have to figure out how that works for scheduling visits.

      Like

      Reply
    2. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Oh, and yes, thanks about the red squares. I do think it is lucky there were only 8 of them. If there had been 16, I might have used them all, which would have been less good. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks, Shasta. It looks even better in person. And when I looked again I found something that is good for the back, though I needed to insert a strip to make it wide enough. The back fabric is a weird color but shockingly perfect for this. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

