Rings of Love

This week Facebook brought me a reminder of a post from four years ago. It was a picture of a finished quilt top. This is what I wrote in Facebook about it at the time:

I never cried on finishing a top before. This was not fun. But it is pretty awesome and will be moreso once finished.

That gives you a tiny peek into my mind at the moment. In fact it was a very bad time in my life, and I cried most days, so crying about finishing the top wasn’t very surprising.

The name of the quilt is “Rings of Love.” It is 69″ square, red on bright white. The name of the block is “Crown of Thorns,” or alternately known as “Wedding Ring.” There are 41 pieces per block, and 20 blocks. I have no idea how many half-square triangles there are in the borders. Though the block is traditional, the design layout is my own. I created heart shapes with sets of three blocks, to emphasize the them of love.

And to show a little more detail on the quilting

It’s nice to remember that even a time so awful could produce something so lovely. Even more wonderful, my dear friend Melody “purchased” it, with funds that went directly to our nearest food pantry. The price she paid helped to buy more than 3,000 meals.

This spring Melody’s daughter got married, and Melody gave it to her daughter and son-in-law. The celebration of love was also a celebration of life; as a family they have recently endured daughter’s ordeal with breast cancer.

When I named this quilt I thought about how good marriages are not just about two people, but also about those who stand with them and support them. Similarly, good communities require rings of love. We stand encircling each other, supporting each other, holding each other up in love. This quilt represents a lot of love, a lot of strength, a lot of sharing. It makes me proud to have made it.

18 thoughts on “Rings of Love

  1. katechiconi

    It’s a great example of beauty arising from suffering. We sleep every night under my ‘living through and getting over breast cancer quilt’. It’s one of my best pieces of work, and has fear, hope, determination and victory sewn into it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Melody Cook

    I’m proud that I could give one of your quilts to become a family heirloom. I’m thankful for all the love and craftsmanship
    that you put into it!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I don’t know what chapters will be written next, but yes, I’m sure there is more to the story. This is one of the reasons even quilts made in sorrow have hope built within them. Thanks.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Thread crazy

    What a great story and I love the red and white quilt! You should be so proud that benefits from your work contributed to the feeding of needy individuals! Beautiful story and I agree, the full story of the quilt had yet to be told!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

