A Counting

Already I published a few favorite finishes from 2015, and I shared some of my favorite posts. Yesterday I finally counted my finishes for 2015. It was about what I expected, with 17 actual quilts done, as well as a few other projects. That’s somewhat fewer than the last few years, but the numbers themselves don’t matter a lot.

The quilts ranged from 35″ square at the small end to 96″ square (queen-sized bed) at the big end. The three below used the same blueprint I share with my students, and they were a broad range of sizes, too. Click on any picture to see them larger and in more detail.

Besides the quilts, I made Son’s Christmas stocking, 10 pillowcases of various novelty fabrics, and a superhero cape.

Five quilts were donated during the year, including one made in 2014. Three of the donations were for the local VA Hospital to distribute to vets. Besides the donations, I gave 9 others to friends and family, including 3 made in previous years.

One was a gift on Christmas day to Son’s good friend Dan. Dan told us he’ll graduate this year with his PhD, so I was pleased Jim and I already decided to present this to him.

Big Blue and Brown. 2013. About 85″.

When he finished his bachelor’s degree in 2010 I presented him with the quilt below. What you see is actually the back. The front is much more conventional and I don’t have a very good picture. Dan is one of the best quilt recipients ever. At least once a year he emails me to thank me for the quilt. Anyone who is that appreciative deserves another. 🙂

I Only Play Soccer (back). 2010.

In a few days I’ll be able to get back to my fabric and machines, to begin a new year of projects. I don’t have expectations for “production” or “achievements.” I have no goal for numbers. It will be good to see what happens as I play.

20 thoughts on “A Counting

  1. Shasta

    I just love all your medallion quilts. Once I get more finishes, I will be able to start one of my own. How awesome that he thanks you for the quilt every year. That is true appreciation. I haven’t listed a goal of a certain number of finishes either – I think that is too limiting and adds too much pressure. It is all about enjoying hte process.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Yes, too limiting. That’s a good way to put it. I saw someone else’s post the other day — in 2015 her goal was to make something every week. Now, that also included stuff like placemats. But … naw, I’m not interested in doing that. That would require LIMITS on my choices that I’m not willing to place. Thanks very much.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Oh my, nothing better! There’s a lot we like about Dan. He’s an appreciative eater, he’s smart and funny, he’s still one of Son’s best friends… But yes, he really likes his quilt. That’s a big thing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Yep, I did make them. Once I already had all that novelty fabric, I decided I would just go ahead. In truth the colors don’t matter a bit. The kids’ rooms, especially, are already “eclectic.” 😉

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      He is multi-talented. PhD in neuro-psych something! The soccer is a joke he told us about himself, when he was in about 4th grade. He still plays soccer, but trumpet is no longer a priority.

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

