Big D’s Quilt

XX's Quilt. 75" x 75". Begun with a medallion print purchased in Boulder City, NV. Finished in February 2015.

Big D’s Quilt. 75″ x 75″. Begun with a medallion print purchased in Boulder City, NV. Finished in January 2015.

Today I gave Big D his quilt, almost a year after it was finished. Big D is one of my little grandsons, and it was time for the boy to have a big-bed quilt. I wrote about making the quilt here and here.

Big D shares a bedroom with two older brothers, who already had big-bed quilts. They make a handsome trio — of boys and quilts!

P’s Quilt. Bear’s Paw pattern. Finished in 2009. Photo is a little distorted.

C’s Quilt. Strip quilt with “chunky churndash” block set on point. Finished in 2009. Photo is a little distorted.

I think it is interesting that the three use three different formats: medallion, block quilt, and strip quilt. They are as distinct as the boys are.

18 thoughts on “Big D’s Quilt

  1. BJ Good

    As I look at it my eye is drawn to the 4 corner ‘roses’ & replicated one in the very center. Reminds me of the corner baseballs in my quilt. I love to study your quilts & discover the patterns, colors, & repetitions!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

