Use the Good Stuff First – Quote Challenge

Love this philosophy and I’ve written about it, too. And don’t just use your good fabric. Use the wedding china, the real silverware, the glass glasses, the pretty linens. And more importantly, use the best of yourself, your most patient tone of voice, your greatest compassion, your hard-fought skills… If you have comments or likes, please add them to the original post.

Lani Longshore's Blog

The late Doreen Speckmann used to tell her quilt students to use the good stuff first. “If you don’t, when you die your family will turn that fabulous batik you’ve been saving into a clown costume.” Oh, I know all the adages about saving something for a rainy day, and about keeping special things for special occasions. That’s good advice, too, but when your sewing room is bursting at the seams try doing some projects with the good stuff.

Cram as much beauty into your life as you can Cram as much beauty into your life as you can

You might be worried that the project won’t work and you’ll have wasted your supplies. Ann Anastasio and I taught a workshop called “There’s a Quilt in There Somewhere.” We instructed students to bring the one piece of fabric deemed too wonderful to use. The first order of business was for everyone to cut her special fabric in half. “Look,” we…

View original post 91 more words

5 thoughts on “Use the Good Stuff First – Quote Challenge

  1. TextileRanger

    I have been enjoying the Back to School Blog Hop, and I loved this post you re-blogged too! Thank you for introducing me to so many other great quilters and crafters. I have followed a lot of these blogs that are new to me!

    Like

    Reply
      1. TextileRanger

        Yes, I read that tip a little while ago on WordPress news – I wish I had known it years ago! I like getting them in my email though, it’s easier for me than continuously scrolling the reader since I am usually reading on a tablet with a cup of coffee in one hand! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Thread crazy

    Great advice and one that we should all folliw, including myself. That’s why I’ve always told hubby, if something happens to me, have my quilting buddies come in and help you with my machines, fabrics, etc. Life is way too short, so do use the good stuff first!!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

