Home Again Home Again Jiggety Jig

I didn’t say; you didn’t know. Jim and I went to see our son. We were gone for a couple of weeks and arrived home yesterday afternoon.

It’s good to be home, with our own stuff around. Later today I’ll head downstairs to my studio. My motivation and inspiration are darn low, but that’s okay. My hourglass project is waiting for assembly. There is no deadline, so I can take my time, working on it when I want to and leaving it when I don’t. I don’t love pressing and pinning, so I can imagine I won’t want to spend long stretches of time at it.

Besides that, I volunteered to make simple curtains for Son’s apartment. I have a bolt of muslin and will fashion plain panels to hang with spring rods. He has no furniture, so I know they won’t clash…

Do you remember the rhyme my title came from?

To market, to market to buy a fat pig,
Home again, home again, jiggety-jig.
To market, to market to buy a fat hog,
Home again, home again, jiggety-jog.
To market, to market to buy a plum bun,
Home again, home again, market is done.

oxford-dairy-pig-drawing

thanks to http://www.reusableart.com/ for the image

13 thoughts on “Home Again Home Again Jiggety Jig

  1. allisonreidnem

    Wierdly people born in Hampshire UK are known as Hampshire Hogs. I received a little badge with a hog on it in recognition of some community work and the County offices in Winchester have a statue of a wild boar outside! Hope your returning home after a break will start your creativity flowing.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      In the US a Hampshire hog is a black hog with a white band around it. Is that true in your life?

      Yes, on the creativity. I feel very scattered, like I don’t know what direction to take next. It’s a little unsettling, but … it’s okay. Just because I don’t know where I’m going doesn’t mean I won’t get there.

      Like

      Reply
  2. katechiconi

    I love getting back to my own comfortable bed…. Travel can be unsettling at the best of times, and I think a slow and gentle return to quilting activities sounds like a fine idea. Just now, I’m wishing for 48 hour days, and that time wouldn’t move quite so fast. My bakery business is suddenly taking off, and we’ve got trips planned and family visiting, and all I want to do is sew!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Hi Kate. Congratulations on your bakery doing well! The only problem with that could be if you find you don’t enjoy the obligations of it. I’ve gotten myself into obligations a number of times, which I later decided were more than I wanted to take on. It’s always a matter of balancing, isn’t it?

      Like

      Reply
  3. katechiconi

    It started as a bit of fun, and sadly I have become the victim of my own success. Most of the time everything works together nicely, it’s just when I go away that things explode. Good job I love cooking…
    I’m looking forward to seeing progress on your hourglass quilt, once your mojo returns!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. KerryCan

    Oh, I LOVE coming home from a trip! Back to my pets, and my cats, and my stuff! But, yes, it can be hard to get back into the daily groove–I bet you’ll find your way back soon!

    Like

    Reply
  5. shoreacres

    I love going, and I love returning. And actually, in either direction it takes a day or so to get into the groove. First, I have to stop worrying about all that I’m leaving behind (will the cat survive? will the work pile up too high?) and then, once I’m home, it’s hard to move from unscheduled days back into work.

    I did remember the verse, and just from the title. It was one of my favorites as a child. My dad would bounce me on his knee as he recited it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Transition back is always a little uneven for me. Today is the first day I’ve felt “right” though we got back Wednesday afternoon. Hoping tomorrow is the same. 🙂

      As to the rhymes, I’ve always loved the rhymes and fairy/folk tales. I have a shelf of them downstairs and still enjoy them as much as I did 40 and more years ago!

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

