Do You Actually Use the Quilts You Make?

This post on using your quilts made me smile. If you comment, please do so at the original post. Thanks for taking a look.

Wildflower Child Creates

You bet we do!

2015-07-04 19.44.22

When I finished my first quilt, I was rather hesitant to use it. I mean, it was a lot of work and it would get dirty and need to go through washer and dryer cycles. My kids would definitely abuse it (I mean, you should see the things they’ve done to the couches, rugs, clothing, toys and shoes!!)

I knew I wanted my quilts to be useful but looking at all that work (and hello – quilting isn’t exactly cheap!) made it hard to let go. For awhile, my quilts made a lovely stack in the den. I remember my husband asking, “Is it okay if I use one of those quilts?” and I cringed a bit inside at the thought.

2015-07-04 19.28.34

Fortunately, I have gotten over that fear. My family now uses quilts like crazy. They have been on road trips (my dad laughed when I packed…

View original post 276 more words

9 thoughts on “Do You Actually Use the Quilts You Make?

  1. Joan Dix Jakubowski

    Of course the quilts I make get used! I have one that I made for my mom, and my six year old was along whilst I searched for backing, and her artistic eye spied a perfect angel print (Mom was rather partial to angels, some had spoken pointedly to her at various points in her life) that I seized to put on the back! Mom has passed on now, but I always enjoy curling up under that particular quilt, because I know Mom always felt like I was giving her a hug when she used it, and I feel as though she is returning the favor now as I use it!

    I also made a denim quilt for one of my sons, he tells me he feels badly because it seems to be sprouting holes, but I tell him to bring it home, that it’s made to be used and patched when necessary. I have already patched it once before, as I was enlarging it at his request. I tell him when it has too many holes to keep him toasty on a cool LA evening, he should keep it around for picnics and the like. I hope he does!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I hope all my quilts are used in some way. When I give them I always hope they will be out rather than put away. I tell everyone it’s okay to wash it!

      Thanks for reading and commenting, and for the blessings. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. mtetar

        You do such beautiful work I’m believing they’re used. What is the cost of one and how long it takes to complete? Be a Blessing because you’re Blessed, Mtetar

        Like

        Reply
        1. Melanie McNeil Post author

          Oh my gosh. I gave away a “best” quilt a couple weeks ago. I talked to the people who got it. They asked how long it took and I said I didn’t want to think about it. 60, 80, 100 hours?? That’s just not something to think about. As to dollar cost, in US that one probably cost about $200 in materials.

          Like

          Reply

I love your comments!

