Leftovers from the Fairy Quilt

Bunnies for Baby

Bunnies for Baby. 40″ x 50″. Finished June 2015. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

In April and May I offered my Medallion Improv! class. To help demonstrate the range of challenges and opportunities medallions provide, I started two quilts. One was Marquetry and the other was the Fairy quilt.

20150620_105354

Marquetry was easy for me, but I struggled with the Fairy. The “template” I provide for my students is a medallion with six borders. After finishing the third border, I tried two different possibilities for the fourth. First, I made 32 puss-in-the-corner blocks, with the intention of alternating the value placement all the way around. They were lovely little blocks, but they took focus away from the center block. [Note about sizing: the border length, not including corners, was 35″. Using 7 5″ blocks on each side covered the length. 4 x 7 = 28 blocks. Add 4 corners forΒ 32.]

That left me with 32 lovely puss-in-the-corner blocks, which wouldn’t be used to frame the fairy. As you can see in the photo at the top, they became part of a baby quilt instead. To 32 pieced blocks, I added 31 alternate blocks. 32 + 31 = 63, which is perfect for a 7 x 9 block layout.

It was easy to decide what to use for the alternate blocks. Last year I bought some bunny fabric from the clearance shelf. The illustrations are from the book Guess How Much I Love You. The colors were perfect to go with the pieced blocks.

Bunny cloth

As mentioned above, I actually made two attempts at a fourth border. Besides the puss-in-the-corner blocks, I also made strips using halved variable stars. They were a lot of work! At the time, I didn’t have any idea how I would use the strips. However, they quickly found their place. When I began a round robin with my sister, I realized the strips would work well for the first border, once cut to length.
20150616_074727

I don’t mind trying multiple options for my medallion borders. I’ve found the rejected attempts, such as the two borders shown above, have their own place. Knowing this makes it easier to stay positive rather than getting discouraged.

What do you do with rejected blocks or borders?

8 thoughts on “Leftovers from the Fairy Quilt

    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      It was one of the easiest things I ever made, too. The variety of colors in the pieced blocks did all the work for me. I stitched pairs of pieced and alternate blocks, laid them out on the floor, and didn’t even rearrange them. They balanced themselves. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  1. Cjhaab

    I have a box of leftover and rejected blocks that might all find themselves as permanent neighbors in a quilt soon. Some of them might work as parts of the fairy round robin. πŸ™‚

    I was inspired recently by a blogger at Myquiltinfatuation.blogspot.com who uses up all scraps each summer in one scrappy quilt. It makes sense to me that I should do this much more regularly.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I sorted my “parts” recently. Some went in the trash. Others will be used. I’ll probably take my 2.5″ and 3.5″ squares to guild and put them on the free table. Too much stuff, too little time. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

