Branching Out — The Finished Top

As I mentioned in the last post about this quilt, my local guild has an annual challenge. This year’s challenge, issued last September, is to create a quilt from all solids, using at least three colors.

I was uninspired to begin a project for the challenge until I saw a quilt in the photo below. Notice the quilt hanging on the left, obscured by the chandelier.

Look at the photo on the far left, behind the chandelier. https://sewkatiedid.wordpress.com/2015/06/15/a-summer-workshop/

Though the quilt inspired me, I didn’t want to make someone else’s quilt. While I considered ideas for my own, I thought about some of the Native American designs, including some we saw in New Mexico last fall. As a third point of inspiration, it almost looked like a medallion quilt, but inside out. The “central” design on the quilt above is on the edges, while the “borders” were the diagonal stripes on the interior, and the broad section of flying geese through the middle.

Medallion quilt? No problem! I can do that!

I will admit, while I usually design my medallion quilts as I go, this one had to be designed before beginning. Of course, I did make a few changes while in process. That will always happen if only because real fabric isn’t the same as pixels. But the changes were minor.

20150629_110601

Branching Out. Unquilted. 45″ x 54″.

This is the top, still to be quilted and bound. The July meeting is in two weeks, so barring misadventures, I have lots of time to finish it.

22 thoughts on “Branching Out — The Finished Top

    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I *am* pleased, thank you so much! It’s very different from what I’ve done before, but I still feel like it is a good expression of me, that it doesn’t look like “someone else.”

      Like

      Reply
  1. katechiconi

    That’s a wonderful piece of work. It has the power of a Native American symbolic artwork, like a Navajo sand painting, but is delicate and light at the same time. Love it!

    Like

    Reply
  2. kathyfaust

    Simply amazing. I am a fairly new follower of your blog. In addition to all the excellent comments above, I would add that, to me, this quilt feels like a medallion turned inside out. What is amazing is that it retains the equal balance of a “squared” medallion, but has been opened up. I love it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jenn R

    I love where you went with the inspiration! I recently finished up my “Timber” quilt and agree that it has a medallion feeling to it. It’s great to see something similar and be inspired.

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

