Post #300!

I just realized that my previous post was #299 here at Catbird Quilt Studio!

Stats
My first post was on 7/21/2013.
From that day to today, there are 677 days.
That means I’ve posted here roughly every 2.25 days.
My posts have had more than 76,600 views, or an average of about 255 views each.
By far the most viewed post is Economy Block ANY Size! (With Cheat Sheet), with more than 7,300 views.
The second most viewed is Medallion Sew-Along #1 β€” Getting Started,Β with more than 2,400 views.
My least viewed post is Making Progress, with a whole 9 views. Yep, that is NINE. Come on, show it a little love!
My first photo of a quilt finished after this blog opened was of the quilt in my banner above.

My Medallion Quilt. Finished August 2013. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

My most recent photo of a finished quilt is Marquetry.

adjusted

Marquetry. 87″ square. Finished May 2015. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

A Request
I’ve really enjoyed the past 22 months and 299 posts. One of the best parts of blogging is interacting with you. To help me celebrate, please leave a comment. (If you prefer, you may email me at catbirdquilts at gmail dot com.) Tell me something about how you found this blog, or why you read, or whether you’ve been inspired to make a medallion quilt because of reading here… In addition, if you like what you see, consider passing the word on to other quilters you know. Share on Facebook; tell your friends. I also teach classes and do guild presentations; check with your program committee if you’d like me to visit your guild.

And THANK YOU. Thank you for reading, for commenting, for becoming my blog friends over time. Thank you.

37 thoughts on “Post #300!

  1. Tammy Hutchinson

    Thank you for your inspiring and informative blog! I’ve started a couple medallion quilts with some orphan blocks for the center, just playing for now. When I shared the one I began first, at a guild meeting, I also passed along the link to your Medallion Quilt Along. I like the contrast you get in your borders-nice fabrics!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks, Tammy. I love using orphan blocks and parts as starting points for a quilt. That first quilt photo in this post? Started with orphans! Thanks for spreading the word.

      Like

      Reply
  2. katechiconi

    I have quite a collection of large scale prints I just can’t bear to cut into, and have often thought how nice they’d be as the central panel of a medallion quilt. Since I’ve started following you, I’m getting more and more interested in making one, but I don’t have EQ and my arithmetic is a bit poor, so working out sizes and quantities has always fallen into the Too Hard basket. I’ll get there one day!

    Like

    Reply
      1. katechiconi

        Wow, great colour combinations! OK, when can I do this? Next project is a birthday gift for October 15, a pretty straightforward queensize team colours job. After that I have a marriage quilt to make for my niece, who got married on Saturday. She knows it’s going to be late, but I don’t want to make it *that* late. I have three 12″ blocks a month to make for FootSquareFreestyle for the next year….
        And after all that, I’ll probably *still* want to start it soon!

        Like

        Reply
  3. Angie

    Congratulations! That’s impressive, a post every 2+ days! I’ve enjoyed many of those posts. I love looking at the pretty quilts and fabrics! πŸ˜ƒ

    Like

    Reply
  4. Naia

    Found you while looking up information. I forget exactly what. I have frequently read and followed since. πŸ™‚ Followed via Google recommends based on my browsing history, that is.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Sandi

    Melanie, I enjoy reading your post and you gave me a lot of help with the medallion instructions when I made one. In fact I have them bookmarked for the next time I make one from one of my many panels. Your quilts are gorgeous and I love hearing about your thought process on them. Congrats on your 300 posts.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I love having EQ as a tool. But as you know, whatever I think or draw in the first place, it’s probably not how the quilt will turn out. The quilt decides… πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  6. Jim in IA

    A nice bunch of comments you have. Well deserved. You are dedicated and creative. You share freely and encourage others to try something new. Just a few of the things I like about you. πŸ’™

    Like

    Reply
  7. KerryCan

    Okay, so this is fun–I started my blog 4 days after you started yours and have written 4 fewer posts! We’re following similar paths, for sure! I found your blog by searching on “quilting” on WP. I’m not doing much quilting these days–I stay because I feel like you and I have established a friendship and I like to know what friends are up to!

    Like

    Reply
  8. colorpencil2014

    Congratulations Melanie, I found your blog just recently through Kerry’s blog. Your gravatar appealed to me. I am not a quilter but love quilts for the history, craftsmanship and colors and patterns. they inspire me. I love the photo of the medallion quilt. Cheers to the next 300 posts! xo Johanna

    Like

    Reply
  9. Joyce from WV

    Found your blog through Stashbusters and love your medallions! Our guild challenge this year is to exchange 12.5 inch blocks next month, and make a quilt, any size from it. I plan on making mine into a medallion and will look at yours for inspiration. You are always so willing to share your designs and how or why you did it. I so appreciate your positive motivation, both on your blog and on Stashbusters.

    Thanks,
    Joyce from WV

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Good morning, Joyce! We’re up way too early, huh? Thanks so much for the lovely comment. I’ll look forward to seeing your project. Let me know if you have questions.

      Like

      Reply
  10. zippyquilts

    Well, that was interesting! You started blogging about a month after I did. I’m pretty sure I found your blog because you left a comment on my blog. And you are really a go-getter to post every 2.5 days!!! You go, girl!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

