Stained Glass Too

I am very blessed — I have few real deadlines or obligations in my life. (Taxes? Done! Death? Not in a hurry!) But when I’m nearing the end of a project, and nearing the end of a month, I end up telling myself I should finish that project by the end of the month.

I LOVE finishing things, because then I can start new things. And with a new class to teach this month, it was great to clear the decks at the end of March. In doing so, I finished Stained Glass Too and Garden Party.

Stained Glass Too. 66" x 70". Finished March 2015.

Stained Glass Too. 66″ x 70″. Finished March 2015. Photo by Jim Ruebush.

I’ve shown you progress on this quilt as I made it, and I showed you the finished top before quilting.

The quilting I chose (which you probably can’t see in the photo above) was simple meandering. The primary reason was because I wanted the effect of ripply antique stained glass, and/or the notion of the colors being wavy and washed like watercolors. As simple as the quilting was, it did what I wanted.

I love the colors and fabrics in this quilt, almost without exception. It was fun to make a quilt all tending toward warm. Even the “cool” colors were greens, turquoises, and purples, so all had warm hues mixed in. The quilt became a little bigger than I’d originally planned. I thought it would stop after the broader green border toward the outside edge, but when it got that far I wanted it a little airier, so added the narrower strip borders and the final pieced border of beads.

Besides lightening the total effect, that last pieced border also repeated the triangle-in-a-square units used near the center. At the same time, because the long beads are of two colors, it echoes the notion created in the hourglass border, where two colors come together separated by a spacer.

In critiquing farther, I haven’t decided how I feel about the low-volume effect. In a relative sense, the dark turquoises and that olive in the strip borders show up as dark, but they are more dark-mediums. I’m kind of a high-contrast gal, so it’s a narrower range than I am used to.

I also don’t love the fabric used for those spacers in the hourglass border. Spacers were required because the quilt is oblong. The block size that would fit “correctly” on the vertical didn’t fit on the horizontal. The color comes off as murky as compared to all the clear pastels. But it is the same fabric as in some of the center’s hourglass blocks, which were leftovers from another project. Repeating that fabric helps tie the center to the rest of the quilt.

This quilt is going to stay with Jim and me, as it has not claimed another owner. The bright, cheery colors suit our living room and we’ll enjoy using it.

19 thoughts on “Stained Glass Too

  1. knitnkwilt

    I agree: that last border was needed, and it works well to unify the piece. I think you have a nice balance of high and low contrast. I like to use low contrast so that something reads as one from a distance, then has parts when you get up close; then put that “something” into a high contrast setting. Like your squares border. And the brownish green enclosed in red.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks for your comments. Low contrast that low — that would scare me! I can do that in parts but not for the whole, though I’ve certainly seen work by others that is very effective that way. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks, sandi. Part of the border facility is simply practice. I’ve done enough, I have a repertoire of things to choose from, and ways to envision it. And I let the quilt lead me. ALSO keep in mind, there is never only one right way to choose for a border or any other part of it. Someone else starting with the same center could have made a fabulous quilt that was completely different. This just happens to be my quilt. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Bluebird Annie

    Congratulations on the new quilt! It always feels so good to check things off on the checklist. Taxes …. yes …. done! But in the case of a new quilt that’s part of you …. it must be more like celebrating the birth of a new family member than making a checkmark on the old to-do list.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Not quite as consequential as a new family member! 🙂 But yes, I put a lot of myself into them. They do take a lot of attention, energy, and thought. Thanks for taking a look.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks, Kerry. When I considered how to quilt it, that was the only thing that made much sense to me. Often fancy quilting is lost in a medallion anyway, because there is a lot of piecing.

      Like

      Reply
  3. snarkyquilter

    The turquoise and apricot gives this one a lot of zing, as does the lime green. I seem to be reminded of sherbet by this one. I see raspberry and grape as well. And the white/light areas give those colors room to breathe and show off.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Thread crazy

    I can just see these colors waving in the spring air, like the petals of spring flowers! Beautiful and you did a great job with the borders. Btw I like the name “Easter Eggs” too!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

