WIP a Little Early

20141201_192615

Finished but unquilted top, 66″ x 78″. When I’ve quilted it, I’ll tell a lot more about it and my process.

Experiment with WordPress: used the Media Library instead of linking the photo from Picasa. Colors turned out better than when linking, and photo quality degraded from original but not as badly. Frustrating…

Comments? I posted this in my personal Facebook page and asked for comments. One comment offered, not enthusiastic. (Totally fine, Amy! We all have different tastes and believe me, I’m not offended!)

18 thoughts on “WIP a Little Early

  1. farmquilter

    I went back and looked at your post of November 26 to see this same quilt – huge difference in the colors in each picture, but since I don’t have the original quilt to compare colors to, you will have to be the judge of which one gives you the truest color representation. The colors in the HSTs in the November post is much brighter.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Dot

    I wasn’t sure how I felt about your early photos, but the wide brown border calms down the busyness and let’s you breathe before taking in the borders. Nice job

    Like

    Reply
  3. Yanic A.

    LOL! See, for me, although it is a beautiful piece (really amazing work Melanie, I mean it!), I’m the opposite of Dot, I think that too much of the purple/brown borders take away from the gorgeous center medallion. My eye is drawn away from the center. Maybe that was what you wanted. I think I would have stopped at the little checker board border (so many little pieces! Insane detail work!), but keep in mind that is me, I’m not a borders-on-my-quilts kind of quilter (which is why it looked “finished” to me the very first time you shared). But that is just personal taste. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see this piece quilted.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I considered stopping after the little squares. Since most of the other piecing is larger scale, I didn’t want to end with that. It seemed the wrong proportion to me. Thanks for looking.

      Like

      Reply
  4. denmck

    I really like the color combination here. The HST could be a little busy for me, but at the same time it does draw you into the center. However that’s after staring at it a bit to be “critical”. πŸ™‚ When I just look at it my first impression is that I like it!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks very much. I like it, too. The challenge is balancing the very plain center (no piecing), making it more interesting, without overwhelming it. Having little value contrast in the triangles, and their large size, helps keep them calm. But their irregular placement and multiple colors still give contrast and busyness. It’s a dance! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  5. Leta Wellman

    I really like this!! Just going by the “computer colors”, I think the lavender triangles really give some movement to that section. And the lime green triangles, while not a color I personally would have thought to use, just really make it POP!!
    Did you use mostly stash, or were the fabrics purchased for this purpose? Curiosity on my part, as your pattern here has given me some ideas for my depleting my own stash.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks so much for looking and commenting. I always go to stash first. I only buy (for projects — sometimes I just buy!) when I know I can only finish if I do. For this one I bought the outer border’s rust, lime green batik, and wine. There wasn’t any more in my stash that would work for these. I tend to buy smaller pieces (a yard now, used to be less) if I don’t have a purpose, so I run out constantly. Have to substitute and scrap a lot. That works well for me, up until a point where I need more cohesion.

      Thanks again.

      Like

      Reply
  6. snarkyquilter

    I feel your pain about getting colors to show correctly online. Anyway, here’s my reaction to the latest additions to this piece. I really like the green fabric that comes right after the peachy/sandalwoody/salmony border. However, I would have ended there. I guess I think the second row of HSTs don’t enhance the center. I keep looking for repetition of the circle theme from the center and the black narrow border fabric. If I cover over the center with my hand, all the borders work well with each other. I just don’t think they enhance the center fabric as much as they could. One possibility is to keep the little squares and the red (?) fabric, and eliminate that last HST border. I like the way the reddish colored squares make that border seem porous and a bit airy. You could run the squares directly up against the salmony/sandalwoody border, eliminating the HST border; or put in a plain border between that fabric and the squares, using either the green or red fabric. However, how/where you plan to use this quilt will certainly affect the size and colors you need. Ultimately, it’s your quilt and you know best how you want it to be. I’ll look forward to seeing the final product.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks as always for your careful comments. I know having the colors’ appearance not as in real life makes any critique more difficult. In addition, I didn’t add any close-ups, so you can’t see the pattern on the green in the triangles. Someone (perhaps you) commented before on repetition of the circles in the center. Because I work primarily from stash, I wasn’t able to do that to any great extent through most of the body of the quilt. Though you can’t see it, the batik pattern on the outer green (purchased for the purpose) does provide some of that circular motion, as does the wine on the outside border. So the triangles border of green and wine adds both that, as well as a repetition of the only triangles, those nearer the center. Also again the photo colors may not show it, but the green in the triangles is pretty exactly that in the symbols of the center, which I didn’t have before.

      As it is I won’t rework it. I actually like it very much and look forward to finishing it soon. Thanks again.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Cjhaab

    Quite unusual, striking color choices of the deep rich warms and the almost-acid greens. And very interesting fabrics. I do see the green in the center circle motifs brought out in the pointy green border. And the circles echoed by dots and circular design elements like flowers petals and even the hexagon-ish little shapes are perfect little details which fascinate me. The more I look at it, the better it gets. True success and I hope you have fallen in love with it.

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

