“I used to be real interesting…”

A post of mine from Our View From Iowa.

Our View From Iowa

Screen Shot 2014-11-22 at 1.24.09 PMThe title is a status update I posted in Facebook a few days ago. Since you bothered to pop in to read (thank you, by the way!), perhaps you wonder what was so interesting about me before, or why I am not interesting anymore.

In truth, I’m just about as interesting in person as I ever was, but my online presence has changed. Facebook itself is part of that. Admit it, it is not a good venue for revealing interesting parts of oneself. Facebook asks the question, “What’s on your mind?” instead of “How are you?” But no one really wants to know either. Most people just don’t want to know what you really think, or how you really are. They’re more comfortable with funny video links, or songs, or shared inspirational posters.

Indeed, the most innocuous subjects or comments can create offense, so most people I know avoid even…

View original post 341 more words

2 thoughts on ““I used to be real interesting…”

  1. snarkyquilter

    At least once a week I get grief from folks because I’m not on Facebook. “You’re missing out on some great coupons.” “You’re missing photos of the wedding.” etc. I just don’t care. If I have a close enough relationship with you then I’ll have been at the wedding. Otherwise, I’m just snooping on your life.

    Yes, FB is a real lightening rod for me as I view its ultimate purpose to be to make $ off me and get a bunch of personal information about me to make the sales job easier. And along the way waste a lot of my time on pointless stuff. I can do that well on my own, thank you very much.

    That’s OK, I’m used to those eye rolls when I start this rant.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I’m not rolling my eyes! That is the reason for fb — to make money off of you. I have blinders on and don’t see the ads. I would never “like” a page to get coupons. Heck, I don’t even have any store cards to get discounts! We do see a lot of pix our daughters post that we wouldn’t see otherwise. And I do keep up with OLD friends as I wouldn’t otherwise. But it’s certainly limited in its usefullness to me.

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

