A Medallion in Solids

Tuesday I delivered a finished quilt and a top to one of my favorite quilt shops, Inspirations in Hills, IA. I’ll be teaching a five-week class there beginning October 16. The pieces I delivered will serve as samples, and hopefully will attract a few more students to join the fun.

My original design incorporates some great basic lessons in some simple blocks. We’ll make puss-in-the-corners, snowballs, flying geese, half-square triangles, and variable stars. Combined with reinforcement on that 1/4″ seam, cutting and pressing, and careful construction, the students can look forward to success.

Unquilted sample

Here is the EQ7 drawing I used to plan this one:

EQ7 drawing

Take another look. The half-square triangles are placed differently in the drawing than in the fabric sample.

And the other, quilted sample, with a completely different look:

A more modern take

One of the lessons for students will be trying those triangle squares a number of different ways before sewing them together. It’s a good design lesson, along with those in construction.

I’m looking forward to this class, and seeing how different these quilts will turn out given different colors and patterns.

12 thoughts on “A Medallion in Solids

    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      It’s a pretty simple design, but enough “meat” on it to teach some good construction lessons. If we have time, I’ll also talk to them about WHY I designed it as I did.

      Thanks for taking a look.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I do find it useful. For what I do, it’s reasonably intuitive, I think. But there are a lot more functions I don’t use. A goal: learn more, use it more completely. It is like other gadgets and tools, though. If it isn’t used, it’s a big waste of money. I’d recommend trying it on someone else’s computer if you’re able, to see what you think.

      Like

      Reply
  1. snarkyquilter

    I think you have a variety of quilting tastes covered in your 2 class samples. Glad you went the extra mile to make two. I know it’s hard for students to envision how a pattern will make up differently than the class sample.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      Thanks. They are quite different, and the one I’ll make up for teaching IN class will be a different look than either. One of the things I think is good about the design is it is appropriate for any fabric style, including juvenile novelty prints! But only if they can envision it, too.

      thanks for taking a look.

      Like

      Reply
  2. bermudagirl

    Melanie, I still love it! Really the colors of the top version, are so bold and the design is fantastic. I think the changes you made with the half-square triangles, assist with it making the center design pop, better than the original plan. Great work!
    Jodie

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thread crazy

    I love the third version as the outer border is somewhat softer, allowing the center to stand out boldly. For quilting, maybe use a variegated thread that would blend in with your fabric.

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

