Sometimes I Just Sits…

Back home after a few days visiting Son in Oklahoma. We were able to take one of our daughters with us this time, which helped make for a wonderful visit. Son is in the Air Force, and his time with loved ones is precious to him. While he works with wonderful people, there’s no place like “home” in the heart.

The car trip was eleven hours each way. I found my time well used, even when I wasn’t driving. What was I doing? Sitting.

A.A. Milne is quoted as saying, “Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits.

How was that a good use of my time? I have a handful of exam booklets I use to make notes, write passages and paragraphs, and form outlines for future work. I brought one of them with me. Friday I scratched out a few words but didn’t get very far.

My brain must have needed a break. I wasn’t eager to work on anything and found myself quite inarticulate.

So, brain, did you enjoy your vacation? There is plenty to do tomorrow!

 * – * – * – *

Find Catbird Quilt Studio on Facebook, too!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Sometimes I Just Sits…

  1. shoreacres

    My mom used to say that — the Milne quotation — all the time. I didn’t realize where it came from.

    There’s not a thing in the world wrong with just sitting. I’ve been aware that my poor brain is getting tired, too. Part of it’s the heat, I know, but part of it’s just too much thinking. So, last Sunday, I closed down the computer and went on a road trip with a friend. It was very enjoyable. We had a great meal in a unique restaurant, wandered the edges of Palacios Bay, and scoped out falling-down hotels for another visit.

    I’m glad you had a good trip, too, even if you weren’t very “thoughty” on the way.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      My mom used to say it, too, and I didn’t know where it came from, either. But I looked it up. Satchel Paige is also credited, so the source isn’t completely clear. But it seems Milne wrote it and Paige quoted him.

      It’s good to just STOP thinking now and then. In fact, I’m becoming quite skilled at that! 😉

      Like

      Reply
  2. KerryCan

    We use that quote around here, too! I spend altogether too much time on the thinking and not enough on simple sitting–it’s gets exhausting. I think I will follow your lead, soon, and spend some hours just staring into space . . .

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie McNeil Post author

      I’m not sure it can be forced, but it is a skill I’ve been working on. (That does sound weird, doesn’t it?) And yes, the thinking can get exhausting, especially when realizing that so much of it does very little good… (and that sounds weird, too…)

      Like

      Reply
  3. Thread crazy

    Know the feeling all too well…after finishing granddaughter’s quilt, I said that’s it for a bit. Once grandkids left and I completed some must do chores, i just sat for a few days..couldn’t get myself motivated. Now i’m ready to get back to sewing. Yes sometimes we just sits and thinks! Glad you had a good trip…welcome back.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Thread crazy

        No not yet as it’s with the quilter. I could have quilted it myself but back and neck have acted up. Once I added borders the size developed into “king”! Will post pics soon!!

        Like

        Reply

I love your comments!

