Laughing At Myself

and I deserve it. My last post commented about quilters who put up eye candy of an array of fabrics, claiming they will use it to make a particular pattern. I don’t work that way, always changing pattern and/or fabrics while the quilt is in process. But…

Today I went to Inspirations, one of my favorite local quilt shops, and bought

I intend to use these fabrics to make that pattern:

And these fabrics to make that pattern:

In my defense, I’m developing a class on medallions for beginning quilters. Rather than step them through a sampler, I’ll teach construction of blocks and units in a medallion format. So these fabrics for that pattern will allow me to make samples in two different colorways.

Note the units and blocks they can learn: variable star, half-square triangles, and puss in the corner blocks. Of course the star requires flying geese. And I don’t know about you, but figuring out sizing for corner blocks — even plain ones — baffled me when I was a new quilter. I think it can be fun, challenging, and help them create beautiful quilts.

So yes, today I am laughing at myself. But there’s a method to my madness!

Did you make a sampler as one of your first quilts? What block or technique gave you the most fits as a new quilter?

8 thoughts on “Laughing At Myself

  1. farmquilter

    HSTs and flying geese – the precision needed for both cutting and sewing took a while to figure out – I would rather make them a little too big and trim down, even though I hate trimming I like the results.

    Like

    Reply
  2. treadlemusic

    I learned about quilting/piecing back “in the day” of doing it by hand. It was a lot easier to adjust things with that technique rather than the machine construction of today. The process was slower and any needed corrections were spotted much sooner than chain piecing a stack of pieces only to discover the error down the road! Love both versions/color ways!! Also, the results are a finish that is impressive. My first quilting pieces looked like what they were…….learning pieces……not something that had a use really.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      My first pieces… I have repaired one fairly extensively. I know the fabric of another is disintegrating… 🙂 That’s okay. They were made from love more than skill.

      I haven’t done hand-piecing. I can see what you mean about slowing things down and seeing needed adjustments early.

      Like

      Reply
  3. KerryCan

    I did a sampler quilt as my first quilt and did it almost entirely by hand–piecing and quilting. As Treadlemusic says, it’s a lot easier to get points to match, etc., when hand piecing but, Lordy, it takes a long time to finish anything!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

