So Many Flying Geese!

I’m working on a medallion quilt top for the class I’m teaching. The other day I showed you the center plus three borders.

I’ve decided what to do next, with a pretty candy stripe in blues to create movement. The big question is how to finish. Here are two ideas:

Squares on point for the final border. I drew an edge of pink to represent a binding.

Flying geese final border. A different color of binding may work better on this one.

When I look at these next to each other, it’s easy for me to choose the flying geese border. But there are so many geese! A whole flock of geese, eighty of them!

One of the students in my class, Robin, sent me a link for easy methods to make multiple geese at a time. These are provided by Connecting Threads. I’ve bought books and other things through this company several times.

The first link shows two ways to make geese. The first is familiar to most of us, using the “stitch and flip” method to add corners to one goose at a time. I usually use this technique, but I don’t like the waste of the trimmed corners. The second method is one I’ve tried, too. It makes four geese at a time and requires reasonably accurate stitching. There is no waste here.

Another Connecting Threads tutorial shows two more ways. (One of these is for dimensional geese, which I wouldn’t use on this quilt.) You can make four geese at a time, and accurate piecing isn’t essential. However, they do require trimming afterwards. I’m not crazy about trimming. Certainly I’ll try this method, though, and let you know what I think.

Do you have a favorite way to make flying geese? Share methods or links with us.

13 thoughts on “So Many Flying Geese!

    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      I like them both. I like the squares on point because they are a little simpler. But I think the geese win for me because of the movement. It repeats the plays on movement earlier with the half-square triangles and the candy stripes, but gives it a third way for that.

      Thanks as always for taking a look.

      Like

      Reply
  1. farmquilter

    Both versions are lovely,but you are right, the geese do give more movement. I generally make my geese the Ricky Tims way – one seam, three-dimensional, but it does take more fabric. Can’t wait to see this one finished!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      Thanks! I’m hoping the top will be done in a couple of weeks. I’m working on my other sample at the same time, and then there are a couple of other UFOs…. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  2. treadlemusic

    I do like the first version better but I may be swayed by the colors used. I like the use of the darker triangles on the outer edge. I, also, think that (for me) the flying geese give too much movement/draw my eyes right to the outer border and compete with the inner piecings. The second is too ‘light’ in color for me to view it comfortably.
    I use the “no waste flying geese” method that makes 4 at a time (no trimming). It is the 2nd method that Connecting Threads shows here: https://www.connectingthreads.com/tutorials/Flying_Geese-Make_em_fast-two_methods__D15.html

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      I see your point on that. In truth I won’t end up deciding (cutting fabric) until I get that far. I just don’t want to wimp out because it’s a lot of piecing!

      Thanks for taking a look today. Hope you’re having a beautiful day.

      Like

      Reply
      1. treadlemusic

        Got out in the garden and planted a few Mother’s Day flowers…..yay!!!! Laundry on and off the lines and a dessert made for today’s (Sunday) grill-out. Definitely a “good day”……and then the rains came. Have a great day!!!!

        Like

        Reply
  3. Thread crazy

    Melanie, I like both ways but for me I love the flying geese as it does add movement. I think possibly if you’d change your colors up a bit it would make a difference. I prefer to make my flying geese utilizing the second method, resulting in four geese. I just finished making 32 in one evening for an outside border. It really does go quickly and trimming (when necessary) is a breeze using a “Deb Tucker” Wing Clipper ruler…as shown here http://www.studio180design.net/videos/?id=4. At first I wasn’t sure I wanted a ruler (as I’m not a ruler person per say) but once I tried it I was sold on using the ruler.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      I get it — not a ruler person. πŸ™‚ I don’t buy gadgets and notions, almost ever. Like, I could really use a new seam ripper. But I’ll make do with the old one for quite a while before I get a new one.

      My sister found a June Tailor shape-cut ruler she figured would be helpful specifically for geese. She makes a lot more than I do. I should check with her if it’s been useful.

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

