Searching for Inspiration, part 2

Yesterday I showed you a quilt design I played with in EQ7, as I prepare for an upcoming class. This is the design:

60″ square with 16″ star-in-a-star center block. 6 borders.

While I was writing the post I thought of a variation in the final border. The change repeated an earlier element. Sometimes repetition strengthens a design and sometimes it is superfluous. I asked you which one you preferred. For me, it’s close, but I like the variation a little more.

In comments, a couple of readers suggested one more change, and that was to flip the order of the teal and turquoise in the final border.

Here again, one more small change… And I like it just a little bit better.
What do you think? I’d love to hear from you.

6 thoughts on “Searching for Inspiration, part 2

  1. Doreen

    Definitely!!!!!! That “little” change really is huge. The other color arrangement wasn’t a comfortable one for me so I was leaning toward #1 but now it’s most surely this newest version!!! Now to make it a reality!!!! Hmmmmmmm?

    Like

    Reply
  2. farmquilter

    Well, since I am one of those that suggested the change, I love #3!!! New challenge: a low-volume quilt! Love your challenges 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      I worked on a low-volume quilt today! That wasn’t the intention, but as I played with it, it just looked better with low value contrast in the outer borders. I will still be a fan of having spots of light, though, as I think that’s what gives a design life.

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

