Tip: Hiding Spots with Markers

Keep a supply of colored, permanent fabric markers. They work great for covering small mars in the fabric, such as when a thread slub resists printing. And when you’re hand-stitching binding, if the thread goes through to the wrong side, you can hide the error by coloring it.

Do you use markers when you quilt? Do you have tips and ideas for using them? Share with us!

Here’s a comment from my Stashbusters friend Sandy:

I used a black sharpie marker on a quilt…. Once!

This is a long time ago when I was very nervous about quilting feathers, so I drew them all out on computer paper… I even had the old connecting computer paper then…so that they would go around the corners and things.

I quilted one border at a time, and then removed the paper. The first one, I pulled diagonally to release the paper, but it made the little bits of paper stick in the paper. I then used an awl and then tweezers to take out the paper. After the first two feet, I found a better way to take the paper off. It was slower, but didn’t leave white dots all over the black fabric with black thread. That first two feet took me longer than the rest of the queen quilt, and I still didn’t get it all with the backtracking.

Out came the black sharpie marker and I touched up the white paper. This was going in a show, and I didn’t want the paper to show. The paper washed away before the sharpie faded, so it was a good fix.

Thanks, Sandy!

7 thoughts on “Tip: Hiding Spots with Markers

  1. Barb Dangel

    I used it on my black ends pants when I made the mistake to use oxy clean on the slacks. Others colors you must be careful because you cannot bling. Good luck.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Reply
  2. denmck

    I have used colored fabric markers when my stitching in the ditch gets jogged out of place and I feel the thread color over that particular area really stands out. I don’t get anal about it, but sometimes you just have to do it! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      I agree! Perfection would be nice but so improbable (for me!) So I try to be happy with pretty good. And when “not great” can be improved to “pretty good” so easily, I’d do it, too.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Thread crazy

    I keep a set of permanent markers in various colors, to use for many types of reasons; one as you described to touch up fabric blemishes, and also to color in my label that I place on back of my quilts. Sometimes I use a rubber stamp design (with permanent ink), stamp a design and then color it in with the markers, creating a label for a specific occasion. Then too, sometimes when I accidently splash a little bleach on my t-shirt, the colored markers come in real handy!

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

