Progress and Blessings

I’m working on old projects. I don’t have a lot of UFOs, so even knocking off two or three makes a big dent in my list.

These are the UFOs as listed on my Fourth Quarter Goals post:
1) My Medallion Quilt: attach label
2) Round robin Triangles quilt: attach label
3) Mexican embroidery quilt: quilt it, bind it, label it
4) Placemats: attach binding
5) Crayon blocks from Outer Banks 2009: divide them into 3 or 4 sets, sash, quilt, etc.
6) 6-pointed star: assemble points and decide on a setting
7) John Deere project with granddaughter
8) And OH YEAH a boat-load of Medallion Sew-Along samples!

Man, considering how busy I’ve been, I can’t mark a lot off my list. I did not put labels on My Medallion Quilt or on the Triangles quilt. (Truth? I DO label, but it’s my least favorite task.) I haven’t done anything about those crayon blocks or the John Deere project.

I did think about how to assemble the 6-pointed star, as described here. It’ll have higher priority again next year.

And I have moved along those Medallion Sew-Along samples. I made progress on most, and finished three tops out of nine that I started. Those are shown here and here.

Right now I’m working on UFO goals 3 and 4.

3) Mexican embroidery quilt. In the middle of 2012, my sister and I agreed to do a “round robin” with each other. Granted, it wasn’t particularly round, since it was just two of us. But we each made a quilt center and mailed it off to the other, with some fabric pieces and no instructions. The centers had borders added and were traded again. We continued until they were “done.” I’d have to count mine to figure out how many times we traded.

The resulting tops were glorious, completely different expressions of our creativity. Hers has been done for a year or more. Mine has waited. Other projects took priority. But now it is on the frame, and I have been quilting it, slowly and — not very surely. My confidence is low, and I’ve picked many stitches. Still, I am making progress.

4) Placemats. Another project I started in 2012 was placemats for special people not to be named yet. They are not fancy but when done, should be very useful for the recipients. The real problem with placemats is the binding-to-quilt ratio is very high! So they also have waited. Now I have 8 of the 16 done and wrapped. The other 8 are in process.

As to non-quilting goals in the post, well, those vary. I’ve moved serious writing to the slow track for now. But Jim and I did finish the food pantry web site update, and I continue to volunteer at the pantry a couple hours a week. We’ve been walking and doing some more serious hiking, which I love more all the time.

And as noted at the bottom of the post:

There are always things to work on, and I have so much in my life. I am incredibly blessed.

Thank you for stopping by. If you’re a regular here or this is your first time, I appreciate that you’ve taken the time. I wish you the blessings of plenty, too.

6 thoughts on “Progress and Blessings

  1. shoreacres

    I always peek in on your quilt posts, but since this is completely outside my experience I usually don’t leave a comment. But I certainly want to wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving – and I hope the comet gives us something else wonderful to be thankful for!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      HA. No need to be impressed. I make lists, but then lose track of them usually. It’s true they help me, but … I’m not very disciplined.

      Thanks for coming by, and Happy Thanksgiving!

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

