Mini Medallion

I’ll admit it: I needed a break. The Medallion Sew-Along samples are challenging and rewarding, but I got stuck for ideas, and I wanted to work on something else. My head is fairly bursting with ideas about other things! But because it’s important to me to get back to those samples, “something else” needed to be quick, easy, and fun.

At the AQS Des Moines show I picked up a few fat quarters and a handful of small remnants. A few, all chosen separately, inspired me with their cheery colors. I decided to try making a mini-medallion.

Strictly speaking, a miniature quilt is one which, if looked at in a photo, would be indistinguishable from a full-sized quilt. But I went with a more casual definition of “miniature”: a thing that is much smaller than normal.

I’m trying to be more creative with my color combinations. Fabrics I used ranged from persimmon to turquoise. What do you think of these?

And here is the finished top. It’s 15.5″. The checkerboard border is pieced. I fussy-cut the inner and outer turquoise borders.

Note the flange.

First time I’ve done that, and it was easy! I cut 3/4″ strips, then folded and pressed carefully with wrong sides together. I turned off the steam to keep from burning my fingers. I pinned the strips (using very thin pins) along the prior edge. I lengthened my stitch length, mostly so it would be easy to unstitch if needed. And I stitched about 1/8″ from the edge. Then I did NOT press it open but left the folded edge toward the center of the top.

When I applied the last border, I used a regular 1/4″ seam, which hid all but what you see of the flange.

Once quilted and bound with the persimmon color, the dark edges will be hidden. Verdict? Quick, easy, and fun, just as hoped! I already have pieces picked for a couple more. These could be addictive…

16 thoughts on “Mini Medallion

  1. Linda Woloshyn

    Hi Melanie,
    I love this mini medallion. I want to do some miniatures and had not actually thought of doing a medallion mini. Our local guild offers this as a category in the local quilt show. So, I may be attempting this. Thanks so much for the inspiration!

    Linda in Oro-Medonte, ON

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      It’s sure worth a try. It does take much fabric, and it didn’t take very long. So if you don’t like the outcome, you didn’t lose much time or cloth. And you did gain some great experience. I’d love to see what you do.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      I love the colors of this one, and I’m happy with how it turned out. But I’ve never worked this small before. So I’m looking forward to doing more and refining things. Proportion, for one, surprised me.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Lori in South Dakota

    great idea–glad to read about it. Just last night In was looking for ideas-need to make a doll quilt for a little girl.

    Like

    Reply

I love your comments!

