AQS Des Moines | Traditional Medallions AND a Giveaway!

It’s been a few days since I posted photos of the modern medallions I enjoyed at the AQS Des Moines quilt show. In the meantime, my husband Jim and I took a short trip to celebrate our anniversary, and we also enjoyed a day with our daughter and young grandson. Family vs. blogging? Family wins, every time.

But I’m back on track to celebrate some beautiful and interesting traditional medallions. They have great ideas for your Medallion Sew-Along borders. And stay with me to the bottom to find out how you can win one of THREE giveaways!

With no further ado, enjoy!

Enchanting Roses by Mary Rossi. Take a look at the last border — the beautiful swag is created with bars, not applique.

Baltimore Surrounded by Sally Noland. Simple diamonds and half-square triangles provide punch.

Miko Rules by Ann Reed. I love the fresh bright pastels. They make this fun, not murky and musty.

Aussie Medallion by Mary Shotwell. All this bordering is done with hourglasses and square-in-a-square. Simple, huh?

The Mystery by Deb Kimball. The red adds the sparkle in this one. Again the elements are pretty simple but used in interesting ways.

Here are some round robin entries from the Des Moines area guild.

Bold & Batty Round Robin by Janora Hayes. Traditional format but not traditional colors. Note the appliqued vine and leaves on top of the first border.

Bold and Batty Round Robin by Evelyn VerSteegh. Some interesting elements here. I especially like the interlocking chain.

Bold & Batty Round Robin by Colleen Hayes. Note the partial flying geese borders, and the great stripe.

Men at Work Round Robin by Jennifer Bernard. Fun use of printed panels in the center and corners. Simple checkerboarding and segments of flying geese add to the masculine feel.

AND A GIVEAWAY!
I’m not much of a shopper, even for fabrics and notions. But I did buy a few things at the AQS Des Moines show for a giveway.
First draw wins TWO books!
Second draw wins FOUR fat-quarters!
Third draw wins TWO fat-quarters!

How can you win? To win you must 1) follow this blog, and 2) comment below and tell us where you are on progress for the Medallion Sew-Along. Comments must include a description of progress or plan. And if you have links for photos or for your own blog update on progress, we’d love to see them.

The giveaway comments are open until Monday, October 14 at 9:00 pm Central Time. I’ll do a random draw of the comments entered by that time. I’ll contact you for mailing address if you win.

Thanks so much for reading, following, and joining in the Medallion Sew-Along. I’m having fun and hope you are, too!

22 thoughts on “AQS Des Moines | Traditional Medallions AND a Giveaway!

        1. Melanie in IA Post author

          The center could be a circle. That does actually make things a little more difficult, unless you applique the center on something … else. But sure, you can do that.

          Good plan!

          Like

          Reply
          1. The Novice Gardener

            Like riding a bike? 🙂 Don’t think so, Mel! Believe me, quilting needs a lot more skill. Actually, don’t believe me! I know nothing! Ok, I’ll be calling on you when the time comes, thanks!

            Like

  1. lorene holbrook

    I am sorry I am not doing the medallion sew along. I do have a center I have had done for years – probably 10 + years! it’s in 30’s fabrics, which I still love. your blog is an inspiration. the pictures are absolutely beautiful. my fave – the first one! makes my heart beat faster! LOL…. I follow your blog by email. thanks for the chance…..

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      On the right margin above the catbird picture, it says “Follow Catbird Quilt Studio”. Beneath that is a blank box. If you put your email address in the box and hit the button below it, you will be a follower. I do not share email addresses, so yours will stay private. A confirmation notice will be sent to your email address. It says this:
      “Hi!
      You recently signed up to follow this blog’s posts. This means once you confirm below, you will receive each new post by email.
      To activate, click Confirm Follow. If you believe this is an error, ignore this message and nothing more will happen.”

      Thanks for taking a look! I hope to see you again.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Linda Woloshyn

    Hi Melanie,

    Thanks so much for posting all these really beautiful medallion quilts from AQS Des Moines. I can only hope to reach the point of making such remarkable medallion quilts myself. I am having such a wonderful time working on my two medallion quilts. You have done such a great job with the instructions and all the follow-through ideas for borders. I’ve had to step away from my work on these for a couple of days. I have a fair bit of quilty outside time this week and won’t be home a whole lot. However, the plan is to get back to these on the weekend. Mine are both at 48 inches now, and I am looking at doing a 6 inch border on both of them. I actually have that zigzag border that I shared with you completed for the one quilt, and am still trying to figure out what I will be dong on the other border.
    Again, thank you so much for doing this.

    Linda in Oro-Medonte, ON

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      Hi Linda! It’s late and I’m not capable of reading and responding well now. Just know I’m really glad you’re having a good time. You are VERY adventurous as a relatively new quilter. Not having exacting instructions is very intimidating for some.

      Thanks as always. I’m glad to have you following along.

      Like

      Reply

I love your comments!

