UFOs

For those of you who only clicked in here because you think it’s about extraterrestrials, or even about Earth-bound conspiracies of secret aeronautics projects, I am sorry to disappoint you.

In the quilters’ world, UFO stands for UnFinished Object.

But stick around! You might enjoy reading, anyway.

As I write this, I’m about 5/7 of the way through quilting my medallion. How do I know so exactly? I’m using a pantograph. I’ve quilted five times across the pattern and I need to make two more passes to finish. And now I consider what projects I have left, what UFOs there are hidden in my life.

Quilting (textile) projects
1) Medallion quilt; finish quilting, make and attach binding, make and attach label
2) Round robin quilt; applique a few more triangles on, quilt it, bind it, label it
3) Mexican embroidery quilt; quilt it, bind it, label it
4) Placemats; attach binding
5) African fabrics project; … figure out what the heck to do next …
6) Crayon blocks from Outer Banks 2009; divide them into 3 or 4 sets, sash, quilt, etc.
7) 6-pointed star; assemble points and decide on a setting

Quilting (writing) projects
1) Continue regular blog posts
2) Develop medallion quilt project to promote through Stashbusters
3) Begin writing book on medallion improvisation
4) Begin developing projects for book

Non-quilt writing projects
1) Contemporary novel
2) Historical novel
3) Blog posts on various issues, especially on food security/hunger concerns
4) … surely there is more …

And there are always home and family projects, too, aren’t there?

I am so fortunate that my life has such a wealth of possibilities. I have love and family and friends. I have fulfilling ways to express my creativity. I have satisfying volunteer work, in which I’m getting more involved. And I have good health, and so much more.

UFOs could be overwhelming. They could be heavy with responsibility. Instead, when I look at these lists I feel exhilarated, excited for the future. Bring it on!

3 thoughts on “UFOs

  1. Ray's Sew Crafty

    I love how enthusiastic you are! 🙂
    I ,also, get excited when I’m thinking about all of my projects and future project plans!! I have about half a dozen precut fabrics for different projects, and every time i start on something new, my boyfriends asks “what happened to the other project you were working on??” , and i just giggle and say I’m working on something else for now, but that I will get back to THAT project eventually. 😛
    He has yet to understand why I buy more patterns and fabrics for future projects when i have SO many UFO’s lingering around.
    But I ,like you, am excited and not burdened by my long list of UFO’s and future projects!
    Best of luck in all that you do and I can’t wait to read your new posts!

    Toodles for now,
    Diana

    Like

    Reply
    1. Melanie in IA Post author

      Thanks, Diana!

      One thing that helps me be excited by UFOs instead of burdened is that I DO finish things! Some things linger longer than others, but I get back to them.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Ray's Sew Crafty

        Exactly! 🙂
        That’s how I am, a long list of projects that is completed at my leisure and that’s the beauty of it! Enjoying your project as you go and appreciating it that much more when you’re done! 🙂

        Like

        Reply

I love your comments!

